Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Health Discussion Board  Hop To Forums  Parenting    Models direct
Page 1 2 3 4 

Moderators: HH Moderator
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools
Reply
5-star Rating (1 Vote) Rate It!  Login/Join 
Tra
Picture of Tra
Posted Hide Post
 
Posts: 478 | Registered: 03 August 2006Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Tra
Picture of Tra
Posted Hide Post
 
Posts: 478 | Registered: 03 August 2006Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Picture of bubbly
Posted Hide Post
Oh god girls!!

Just read this and really don't want to put a dampner on things, but my eldest who is now 7, was accepted as a baby and i paid the 100 odd quid for his modelling contract.
They would always ring and say he'd been put forward for some work, but unfortunatly he wasn't picked. This happened a good ten or so times and he never got anything and then it came to renewing his membership and them wanting another 100 odd pounds, so i thought i'd do it and hope it was just a bad first year, but same thing again and never renewed after that!
It may of just been bad luck, but i would def never recommend them.

It's up to you of course though!

bubbly x x


 
Posts: 806 | Location: uk | Registered: 29 June 2005Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Tra
Picture of Tra
Posted Hide Post
Thanks for that. I only really put her forward to see if she would be accepted but I expect they accept everyone who has £128. my eldest daughter kept saying go on do it but I don't think I will, too much to do with the four of them anyway.

Trad
 
Posts: 478 | Registered: 03 August 2006Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Picture of ~Vicky~
Posted Hide Post
Hi Trad, in the end I decided against it. My BIL paid the money and hes never had any work out of them, so I am pretty glad I didn't now.

xx
 
Posts: 2907 | Location: United Kingdom | Registered: 23 February 2006Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Posted Hide Post
Hiya - there was an article in some parenting mag about this and the best site to visit to find out more is www.albamodel.info

They have a list of "genuine" agencies for child modelling and are well recognised by the industry so you could try them if you want to have a model in the family. Smiler

But my friend also looked into this and even though she lives in London, she said it would be too hard to do all the travelling and having to drop everything to go to a casting whenever it was needed!

Good luck!

Loocy xx
 
Posts: 424 | Registered: 04 December 2006Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Posted Hide Post
Hiya - there was an article in some parenting mag about this and the best site to visit to find out more is www.albamodel.info

They have a list of "genuine" agencies for child modelling and are well recognised by the industry so you could try them if you want to have a model in the family. Smiler

But
 
Posts: 424 | Registered: 04 December 2006Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Posted Hide Post
PLEASE PLEASE do not use MODELS DIRECT.The reason they dont want to see you is because all they want is your money.They sent you all these leaflets making it look professional,letters saying you have been accepted by their panel but once you have paid you never hear from them again.I have had my fingers burnt by MODELS DIRECT and dont want other people too.
 
Posts: 1 | Registered: 10 June 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Picture of ~Vicky~
Posted Hide Post
Hi Voice of Wisdom, thanks for your advice. I decided not to go with them as it seemed all too easy to pay over £128 and just wait for the jobs to come rolling in.

My brother in law paid the money and I am pretty sure he hasn't heard anything.
 
Posts: 2907 | Location: United Kingdom | Registered: 23 February 2006Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Posted Hide Post
Hi - am new to the site and wondered if you could help! I too got offered a contract for my little one (Ava) and decided not to go ahead...they have now come back with an offer of corporate sponsorship?! anyone had this? If so what is it about, would love to know without encouraging them further by ringing lol Roll Eyes. xx
 
Posts: 1 | Location: hartlepool | Registered: 05 July 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Posted Hide Post
I put my little girl up for a contract cuz i really did think they were a genuine company but when i paid the £128 i have heard anything since thats been nearly 2 months and apparently they told me they would put kaycee up everyday for the full 3 years that i paid for, i aint had any phonecalls no emails nothing from them since i paid, so please anyone thinking of paying them DONT

My partner said it was a scam but i didn listen, wish i had now though x
 
Posts: 1 | Registered: 25 July 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Picture of Clive Hurst
Posted Hide Post
Models Direct have one of the worst reputations in the modelling world I am afraid...

Do not pay any agency an up-front fee!

We are trying to get the government to outlaw up-front fees; no work - no fee...

See my website http://www.anactor.net for details about this campaign. Write to your own MP and ask them to sign Early Day Motion 1598 calling for prosecutions against scam agencies; details are on my website.

If you have paid 'up-front' to an agency then please do let me know...

I am on the governing council for the actors union Equity, we all want to see these fees banned!

I have been on BBC Breakfast TV twice and Radio 4 Womans Hour; as well as 12 other BBC radio programmes; alerting parents about these scams...

All the best,

Clive
 
Posts: 3 | Location: London | Registered: 12 August 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Posted Hide Post
I'm really surprised by this thread. I've been registered with Models Direct for 2 years now and have been put forward for numerous assignments. Obviously I haven't got them all - I'm no Kate Moss ;-) but they did exactly as they explained at the beginning. I've been put forward when I've matched a search and I've even been on 2 fantastic assignments. I do get some annoying e-mails asking me to upgrade to ''Superstar'' but I never have and it doesn't seem to have affected my chance of getting work. They all seem friendly on the phone although don't bother using their answer machine as they never seem to get the messages! Overall i've got what I wanted. A hobby. Hope this helps anyone out there considering applying.
 
Posts: 1 | Registered: 03 September 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Posted Hide Post
I joined Models Direct May 2006 I paid £128 which they said was for the administration purpose and not a registration fee, I havent had no work from them at all and I can never seem to get hold of them. I sometimes get a email stating that my file has been viewed but that seems to be a standard email. I am thinking of trying to get my money back has anyone tried this and does anyone think I can .
 
Posts: 2 | Location: Kent | Registered: 26 September 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Picture of ~Vicky~
Posted Hide Post
Oh god so many people have fallen into their trap, cheeky gits!

x x
 
Posts: 2907 | Location: United Kingdom | Registered: 23 February 2006Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
 Previous Topic | Next Topic powered by eve community Page 1 2 3 4  

    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Health Discussion Board  Hop To Forums  Parenting    Models direct

Copyright © 2008 Discovery Communications, LLC